Ana de Ataíde Magalhães (1974 - )

Ana Ataíde Magalhães was born in Espinho in 1974. In 1993 she graduated from Conservatório de Música do Porto and joined the composition class at Escola Superior de Música do Porto where she worked with Cândido Lima and Virgílo Melo.

Her piece “Cinik Art” was presented at the 18th Encontros Gulbenkian de Música Contemporânea in Lisbon – European Capital of Culture, 1994, having been the youngest composers represented in that event.

Throughout her musical studies she had the opportunity to attend several Composition, Analysis, Electro acoustic workshops and master classes with distinguished teachers as Emanuel Nunes, Carlos Guedes, Ken Valinsky, Carlos Azevedo, António Pinho Vargas, Jorge Peixinho, João Pedro Oliveira, Álvaro Salazar and Christopher Bochman. Regarding orchestra direction she has worked with Robert Houllian, António Saiote e Michael Ditrich.

Invited by professor Hughes Keastman she writes “Esquisse”, to Bassoon solo, that becomes a mandatory work to the final examination of this instrument.

Her piece, “Musica per Luigi”, dedicated to the clarinet player Luís Carvalho, was presented by himself at Conservatório de Música do Porto, becoming a mandatory work to attend the III Concurso Nacional de Clarinete.

She participates in Música Viva, electro acoustic festival, with her piece “Clariteo” to clarinet and electronic device.

Works regularly as a composer in different ensembles and her compositions have been performed in Portugal, Spain, Brazil, Italy, Brazil, Mozambique and France. Since 2014 her work has been reviewed and published by AVA MUSICAL EDITIONS.


In 2015 her work "In Memoriam" for orchestra, was a finalist in the competition "Cambridge Philharmonic Women Composers Call for Scores" and "Fanfare Dialogues" for two trumpets in Bb, was one of the chosen for the "Festival of the Southeast Two Minute Premieres Project ", to be premiered on January 16, 2016, at the University of Alabama, Birmingham.



She currently lectures ATC, Composition and Orchestration at the Conservatório de Música de Coimbra, and dedicates her enthusiasm and endeavour in coaching young students to write music.

This composer has 5 works on AvA:

Aquæ fugit

Ref. ava141118

Work Cover

Available for Rental

Musica per Luigi

Ref. ava141119

Work Cover

11.00 €

The Scent of the Nightingale

Ref. ava151348

Work Cover

16.00 €


Ref. ava151349

Work Cover

12.00 €